Welcome


Law should be interactive.

Rabbit Crowd Library is an experiment in enabling people to interact with the law directly without bias.

Give law accountability. Use - , and to comment and respond to text you agree and disagree with.

0
0
0
Utah |
76-6-102 Arson.

(1) A person is guilty of arson if, under circumstances not amounting to aggravated arson, the person by means of fire or explosives unlawfully and intentionally damages:

(a) any property with intention of defrauding an insurer; or

(b) the property of another.

(2) A violation of Subsection (1)(a) is a second degree felony.

(3) A violation of Subsection (1)(b) is a second degree felony if:

(a) the damage caused is or exceeds $5,000 in value;

(b) as a proximate result of the fire or explosion, any person not a participant in the offense suffers serious bodily injury as defined in Section 76-1-601;

(c)

(i) the damage caused is or exceeds $1,500 but is less than $5,000 in value; and

(ii) at the time of the offense the actor has been previously convicted of a violation of this section or Section 76-6-103 regarding aggravated arson within 10 years prior to the commission of the violation of Subsection (1)(b).

(4) A violation of Subsection (1)(b) is a third degree felony if:

(a) the damage caused is or exceeds $1,500 but is less than $5,000 in value;

(b) as a proximate result of the fire or explosion, any person not a participant in the offense suffers substantial bodily injury as defined in Section 76-1-601;

(c) the fire or explosion endangers human life; or

(d)

(i) the damage caused is or exceeds $500 but is less than $1,500 in value; and

(ii) at the time of the offense the actor has been previously convicted of a violation of this section or Section 76-6-103 regarding aggravated arson within 10 years prior to the commission of the violation of Subsection (1)(b).

(5) A violation of Subsection (1)(b) is a class A misdemeanor if the damage caused:

(a) is or exceeds $500 but is less than $1,500 in value; or

(b)

(i) is less than $500; and

(ii) at the time of the offense the actor has been previously convicted of a violation of this section or Section 76-6-103 regarding aggravated arson within 10 years prior to the commission of the violation of Subsection (1)(b).

(6) A violation of Subsection (1)(b) is a class B misdemeanor if the damage caused is less than $500.

Amended by Chapter 272, 2013 General Session 2013

Share this law:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Reddit
Local Government
Utah
0
0
0
Gary Herbert
Gary Herbert
August 11, 2009 -
Republican
1-801-983-0275
350 North State Street, Salt Lake City, UT, 84103

Keywords
offense
violation
bodily
injury
participant
suffers
damage
aggravated
caused
arson