Welcome


Law should be interactive.

Rabbit Crowd Library is an experiment in enabling people to interact with the law directly without bias.

Give law accountability. Use - , and to comment and respond to text you agree and disagree with.

0
0
0
39:3-40.1 Revocation Of Registration Certificate, Plates.

2. a. Any motor vehicle registration certificate and registration plates shall be revoked if a person is convicted of violating the provisions of:

(1)subsection a. of R.S.39:3-40 for operating a motor vehicle during a period when that violator's driver's license has been suspended for a violation of R.S.39:4-50; or

(2)subsection b. or c. of R.S.39:3-40 for operating a motor vehicle during a period when that violator's driver's license has been suspended within a five-year period.

(3)(Deleted by amendment, P.L.2009, c.201).

This revocation of registration certificate and registration plates shall apply to all passenger automobiles and motorcycles owned or leased by the violator and registered under the provisions of R.S.39:3-4 and all noncommercial trucks owned or leased by the violator and registered under the provisions of section 2 of P.L.1968, c.439 (C.39:3-8.1), including those passenger automobiles, motorcycles and noncommercial trucks registered or leased jointly in the name of the violator and the other owner of record.

b.At the time of conviction, the court shall notify each violator that the person's passenger automobile, motorcycle, and noncommercial truck registrations are revoked. Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S.39:5-35, the violator shall surrender the registration certificate and registration plates of all passenger automobiles, motorcycles, and noncommercial truck registrations subject to revocation under the provisions of this section within 48 hours of the court's notice. The surrender shall be at a place and in a manner prescribed by the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission pursuant to rule and regulation. The court also shall notify the violator that a failure to surrender that vehicle registration certificate and registration plates shall result in the impoundment of the vehicle in accordance with the provisions of section 4 of P.L.1995, c.286 (C.39:3-40.3) and the seizure of said registration certificate and registration plates. The revocation authorized under the provisions of this subsection shall remain in effect for the period during which the violator's license to operate a motor vehicle is suspended and shall be enforced so as to prohibit the violator from registering or leasing any other vehicle, however acquired, during that period.

c.If the violator subject to the penalties set forth in subsections a. and b. of this section for conviction of violating the provisions of R.S.39:3-40 was operating a motor vehicle owned or leased by another person and that other owner or lessee permitted that operation with knowledge that the violator's driver's license was suspended, the court shall suspend the person's license to operate a motor vehicle and revoke the registration certificate and registration plates for that vehicle for a period of not more than six months. Notwithstanding the provisions of R.S.39:3-35, the owner or lessee shall surrender the registration certificate and registration plates of that vehicle within 48 hours of the court's notice of revocation. The surrender shall be at a place and in a manner prescribed by the Chief Administrator of the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission pursuant to rule and regulation. The court also shall notify the owner or lessee that a failure to surrender the revoked registration certificate and registration plates shall result in the impoundment of the vehicle in accordance with the provisions of section 4 of P.L.1995, c.286 (C.39:3-40.3) and the seizure of said registration certificate and registration plates. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to limit the court from finding that owner or lessee guilty of violating R.S.39:3-39 or any other such statute concerning the operation of a motor vehicle by an unlicensed driver.

L.1995, c.286, s.2; amended 2000, c.83, s.2; 2009, c.201, s.4.

Share this law:
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Reddit
Local Government
New Jersey
4
0
0
Phil Murphy
Phil Murphy
January 16, 2018 -
Democratic
1-609-292-6000
125 West State Street, Trenton, NJ, 08625

Keywords
vehicle
registration
violator
certificate
plates
motor
surrender
owner
revoke
lessee